Seasons

For those who are privileged to live in areas of the country that experience changing seasons, you are beginning to enjoy brisk cool mornings and feel the temperatures drop a little. In other places, these welcome changes come ever so slowly.

Every time I experience this transition, I think about the seasons of my life. Where am I at this time? What transition am I personally experiencing? What was I doing last fall and what progress have I made since then?

There are seasons of parenting, and every season has it beauty and its toil. Some parents truly enjoy the infant/toddler stage while other parents find the “baby” season the most challenging. Some simply “endure” as their children pass through the teenage years.

Regardless of how you view the various seasons of parenting, one thing any parent with grown children will tell you is that the seasons pass far too quickly. If you focus on the toil of ANY season, you will miss its tremendous beauty.

Personally, I hate to be cold. I freeze when everyone else is comfortable. However, I would hate to think of the grandeur, beauty, and amazing experiences that I would have missed if I had focused on being cold. I force myself to get outside in cold weather and travel to freezing cold places. Experiencing the beauty that the cold season has to offer is more than worth it.

When a season of parenting is troubling you, try to find the beauty in the season. Before you can blink, your children will be on their own; and so many teachable moments and chances to make memories with them will be in the past. Sometimes you just have to choose to find the beauty and focus on it over the toil.

Your child has only one childhood, and you have only one chance to get it right. Embrace every day with your children. I love these quotes:

Don’t be fooled by the calendar. There are only as many days in the
year as you make use of.
  ~ Charles Richards
Waste your money and you are only out of money. Waste your
time and you’ve lost part of your life.
~ Michael LeBoeuf

And I would add…a part of your child’s life.

Blog written by Donna McClintock, COO Children’s Choice Learning Center, Inc.

Leave a Reply

