“Happy Mother’s Day!” to Me! …Yes, to ME!

I have grown children, and I have learned the hard way that Jill Churchill’s quote is true:

“There’s no way to be a perfect mother and a million ways to be a good one.”

With Mother’s Day approaching, I began to think about ways to honor my amazing mom and started down the familiar path of personal reflection that typically results in grading my own report card as a mother and grandmother. I’m a perfectionist, and I tend to linger on my mistakes. When my children hit bumps in the road, I immediately feel tremendous guilt over my imperfections as a mom. Then again, I sometimes marvel at how amazing they turned out in spite of my shortcomings.

I am very hard on me … I know that. And I suspect that there are many of you who are the same way. My challenge for each mom reading this blog is that you would lay aside any guilt, regret, or barrier that prevents you from just enjoying the good that you have accomplished with each of your children. Take the time to celebrate all the joys and every sweet moment and memory.

William Shakespeare said, “Joy delights in Joy.” Being joyful brings you more joy. Celebrate the things you have done and are doing well as a mom. You deserve it. If you have very young children, learn now to forgive yourself and be joyful. It is the greatest gift that you can extend to yourself. Yes, you need to be diligent. Yes, you need to take your role seriously. Yes, you need knowledge and wisdom. However, once you have done all that you can to prepare and you have poured your heart and soul into being the best mom that you can be, learn to celebrate the things that you do well and keep working on the areas where you want to improve. And while you will never be a perfect mom, you will find your own unique way to be a good one.

Happy Mother’s Day!” to all the incredible moms, grandmothers, and caregivers who give of themselves every day for America’s children. We celebrate YOU!

Leave a Reply

